Government Relations

View all services

Media & Communications

View all services

Crisis Management

View all services

Corporate Advisory

View all services

SAS China

View all services

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has announced his Ministry following his election as the new leader of the Liberal Party last Friday.

A summary of the major changes are as follows:


  • Josh Frydenberg becomes Treasurer following his stint as Minister for Energy and the Environment;
  • Marise Payne is elevated to the role of Foreign Minister, replacing Julie Bishop who has opted to move to the backbench;
  • Kelly O’Dwyer takes on the portfolio of Jobs, Industrial Relations & Women;
  • Karen Andrews has been elevated to Cabinet with the role of Minister for Industry, Science and Technology;
  • Dan Tehan has been handed the Education portfolio, where his immediate priority will be to make peace with the Catholic schools’ sector over the recent funding disagreement;
  • Sussan Ley returns to the ministry as the Assistant Minister for Regional Development and Territories;
  • Scott Buchholz is promoted to the position of Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport;
  • Stuart Robert’s two-year sabbatical on the backbench is finished with his appointment as the Assistant Treasurer;
  • Michelle Landry assumes the mantle of Assistant Minister for Children and Families;
  • Angus Taylor is promoted to Cabinet as the Minister for Energy, where his primary duty will be to lower power bills for Australian households.

Moved to the backbench:

  • Malcolm Turnbull
  • Julie Bishop
  • Craig Laundy
  • John McVeigh
  • Michael Sukkar
  • James McGrath
  • Keith Pitt
  • Jane Prentice
  • David Gillespie
  • Concetta Fierravanti-Wells

A link to the full Ministry can be found here.



The SAS Group is your trusted partner for government, media and corporate engagement.

Stay up to date with our latest news

  • You have entered a wrong verification code!