Government Relations

View all services

Media & Communications

View all services

Crisis Management

View all services

Corporate Advisory

View all services

SAS China

View all services

LNP Senate pre-selection:

The LNP has pre-selected its senate ticket for the upcoming federal election and it features several new faces. On Friday last week the Party’s state council opted for renewal by place mining executive Paul Scarr and Super Butcher owner Susan McDonald in the safe one and two spots on the ticket respectively.

Veteran senator Ian Macdonald was selected in the unwinnable fourth position, while Barry O’Sullivan will not seek re-election following his loss to Ms McDonald. Financial manager Gerard Rennick secured the number three spot having previously run on the LNP ticket at the 2016 double dissolution election.

As mentioned, the LNP is assured of winning two senate spots at the next election, while the third position is effectively a marginal seat. In order to win three senate spots, the LNP would require a strong performance in Queensland and minimal leakage in the senate vote to minor parties such as One Nation or Katter’s Australia Party.

The entire LNP senate ticket is as follows:

  1. Paul Scarr
  2. Susan McDonald
  3. Gerard Rennick
  4. Ian Macdonald
  5. Brad Carswell
  6. Nicole Tobin

Federal retirements:

In recent days two Labor stalwarts have announced that they will not be contesting the next federal election. Melbourne Ports MP Michael Danby announced his retirement late last week, bringing an end to a 20-year career in the parliament. Mr Danby has forged a reputation as being a parochial supporter of Israel and a champion of human rights. Interestingly, his seat of Melbourne Ports (to be renamed Macnamara) is shaping as being a three-way contest between Labor, the Liberals and The Greens. Labor currently holds it on the wafer-thin margin of 1.4 per cent and with Mr Danby’s retirement it will be closely watched at the next election.

Meanwhile, former Cabinet Minister Jenny Macklin has also announced that she will be departing politics following the next election. Ms Macklin is the longest serving Labor woman to sit in the House of Representatives and was Deputy Leader to Kym Beazley. She has represented the seat of Jagajaga since 1996 and is credited with helping establish the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

AEC Redistribution

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has finalised redistributions and name changes of several seats across Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT. A summary of the new details for all relevant seats are in the table below:



Labor leader Bill Shorten is yet to announce if he will move from his current seat of Maribyrnong to the newly established electorate of Fraser which he presently lives in. Moreover, former Labor President Mark Butler is still scratching around for a new seat after the AEC confirmed that the Port Adelaide division will be abolished. The new names and boundaries of each of the affected seats will come into the effect at the next election.

The SAS Group is your trusted partner for government, media and corporate engagement.

Stay up to date with our latest news