Government Relations

View all services

Media & Communications

View all services

Crisis Management

View all services

Corporate Advisory

View all services

SAS China

View all services

The New South Wales election was held on 28th March.  The Liberal and National Coalition have retained government, with a significant majority.

The win is significant for several reasons:

  • Mike Baird now has a clear mandate for his privatisation agenda, despite heavy negative campaigning by opposition parties and trade unions;
  • The Coalition’s victory has defied the trend in Victoria and Queensland, where first-term Coalition governments were voted out of office;
  • The win occurred in the face of backlash against key elements of the Federal Coalition’s agenda and legislative delays in the Senate.

The swing against the Coalition was very small (3.3% against the Liberal Party and 1.8% against the National Party).

It appears the Coalition will also have a rare majority in the Legislative Council. 

Legislative Assembly:

  • 46 seats are needed to form a majority government; the Coalition appears to have won with a reduced, but significant majority of 55 seats (total vote count not confirmed).
  • The most recent prediction for the seat tally is outlined below:


Legislative Assembly results


2011 election 

2015 election
































Legislative Council:

  • The Legislative Council is the New South Wales Parliament’s upper house.
  • The Council has 42 members, elected by proportional representation, in which the whole state is treated as a single electorate. Only half of the Legislative Council has is elected at each general election.
  • The Coalition appears set to gain a rare majority in the legislative Council, with the Liberal and National Parties potentially winning up to 10 of the 21 available seats. Counting continues.
  • If the Coalition does not form a majority, it is likely that they will pass most legislation with the support of either the Shooters Party or the Christian Democrats (Fred Nile).
  • This is quite remarkable and will allow the Coalition to pass legislation with relative ease.


Click here to see who makes up the new Ministry




Troy Grant

Deputy Premier

Minister for Justice and Police

Minister for the Arts

Minister for Racing


Gladys Berejiklian


Minister for Industrial Relations


Adrian Piccoli

Minister for Education   


Duncan Gay 

Minister for Roads, Maritime and Freight

Vice President of the Executive Council  


Anthony Roberts 

Minister for Industry, Resources and Energy



Jillian Skinner 

Minister for Health 


Andrew Constance 

Minister for Transport and Infrastructure   


Brad Hazzard 

Minister for Family and Community Services   


Rob Stokes 

Minister for Planning


Dominic Perrottet 

Minister for Finance, Services and Property


Gabrielle Upton

Attorney General 


Pru Goward 

Minister for Mental Health and Medical Research

Assistant Minister for Health

Minister for Women

Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault  


John Ajaka 

Minister for Disability Services   


Stuart Ayres 

Minister for Trade, Tourism and Major Events

Minister for Sport


Victor Dominello

Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation   


John Barilaro 

Minister for Regional Development

Minister for Skills

Minister for Small Business


Paul Toole 

Minister for Local Government


Niall Blair

Minister for Primary Industries

Minister for Lands and Water 


Mark Speakman

Minister for Environment

Minister for Heritage

Assistant Minister for Planning


David Elliott 

Minister for Corrections

Minister for Emergency Services

Minister for Veterans Affairs 


Leslie Williams

Minister for Early Childhood Education

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs

Assistant Minister for Education



The SAS Group is your trusted partner for government, media and corporate engagement.

Stay up to date with our latest news